January 17th

Rowan Studio 22

Sheer from Rowan Studio 22

Rowan Studio 22 has just arrived.  The designs are really different.  Lots of Kidsilk Haze combined with other yarns!

Giving the pork to Jackson proved to be a big mistake. He ate a small piece ( no bigger than a little finger nail ) and immediately started to scream, and I do mean scream.  He was pawing at his throat and yelling – a wild sort of cry.  I grabbed him and rubbed his throat and the piece of pork must have gone down.  He was very quiet for the rest of the evening. I have put him back on biscuits. He regurgitated in his hammock earlier this afternoon — biscuits.  I have washed the hammock and it is back in situ.  I heard from the insurance company and they have paid the university for the first bill and there is another one in the pipeline.  I don’t think I will have enough left on my policy to cover it completely.  The policy renews in March and then I have £4,000 to spend again!

It has rained all day and hardly got light – very depressing. I see the snowdrops are up – perhaps Spring will come soon!  Back tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “January 17th

  1. Dear, dear Jannette,
    These setbacks are so distressful to us reading about them; can’t imagine how you are managing. That’s incredible how he reacted to the pork! Have you contacted the breeder since the surgery? Surely she would want to know. I find it hard to believe that this would be new to her if she’s been a breeder of Bengals for long. Even if there is no resolve for you or Jackson, sharing this might help someone else purchasing in the future. No snowdrops here, but we do have plenty of the ‘snow’ part! Just had three or four inches more during the night and this morning. It’s so pretty and white, I love this time of year. Sending healing thoughts your way, Gerry

  2. Hi Jannette,

    I have 2 bengals. They are siblings and about 2 years old now. They are healthy (fingers crossed) and quite naughty. I’m really sorry about Jackson’s health problems. IMO, you should tell the breeder. They should know about the problem and if they are responsible breeders, they will research the lineage and not use the cats that pass on this gene to breed to prevent this from happening again.

    Praying that Jackson makes a complete recovery.

  3. I could cry for Jackson and you going through all this pain and heartache. I agree with other posts re the breeder. Surely they must take some responsibility? They should be tracing the faulty gene so this bloodline can be stopped from breeding and causing such agony for the bengals and much stress not to mention the cost of treatment for bengal owners.

Leave a comment